Narrative for Oxford City Council Suggested Scheme

Barton, Sandhills and Risinghurst: The city ward of Barton & Sandhills is combined with two polling districts (UC & UD), which make up the Risinghurst section of Quarry & Risinghurst ward. We also include VA which is linked to Barton by a pedestrian underpass. VB to the north west of Barton will see Oxford's largest estate of new housing.

We have excluded TD (which we add to Churchill & Lye Valley) and UE (which we add to Headington & Quarry). These are both within the boundary of Sandhills & Risinghurst Parish but in reality both are cut off from the rest of the parish by the ring road. TD in particular sees itself as part of the Wood Farm ward.

(If TD and UE must be included in Barton, Sandhills and Risinghurst, we would exclude that part of VA west of Barton Road to ensure equality of numbers. Barton Road is a clear boundary if the VA polling district is to be divided.)

Churchill & Lye Valley: The city ward of Churchill is combined with most of the Lye Valley ward. The dividing line of Marshall Road is separated from the rest of the SA polling district by a recreation ground and a school. Streets to the north look more towards Horspath Road and Lye valley. To the south the focus is more towards the Cowley shopping centre.

The part of SA east of the ring road contains the BMW car plant and has no electors.

Marston & Northway: The city ward of Marston is combined with the Headington & Northway ward, except for part of XC. The John Garne Way complex of student accommodation in XC, which faces Marston Road, is included in Marston & Northway. The rest of XC, around Pullens Lane, looks much more towards the suburb of Headington.

Wolvercote & Summertown: The city ward of Wolvercote is combined with the north part of the suburb of Summertown. We include BA and that part of BB to the north of Wentworth & Aldrich Roads. This is a natural divide between the Cuttleslowe area to the north and Sunnymeade to the south.

St Margaret's: The city ward of St Margaret's is combined with the south part of BB and that part of DA west of Woodstock Road, called Walton Manor. The new division is that section of the north Oxford suburb to the east and south of the Summertown shopping centre.

University Parks: Parts of the city wards of North (including Park Town) and Holywell and the area to the east of St Giles' come together around the University Parks. This is a predominately student area bounded by High Street, Cornmarket and St Giles' and by the Cherwell River.

Jericho & Osney: The city ward of Jericho and Osney is combined with Carfax ward to the west of St Giles'. The new division includes the large green space of Port Meadow. The new division comprises the population to the west of the line created by St Giles', Cornmarket and St Aldate's and the communities centred around Botley Road.

Isis: The city ward of Hinksey Park is combined with the area to the south of the High Street, the Donnington estate and Iffley Village. It is joined together by Folly Bridge, Donnington Bridge and Iffley Lock. In this case the river unites the various communities. There are good walking, cycling and road links bringing the division together.

Iffley Fields & St Mary's: St Mary's ward is combined with most of the city ward of Iffley Fields. The new divison is bounded by the River Thames and Iffley Road. The LA polling district of Donnington is excluded because it has close community links with the Weirs Lane area on the west side of Donnington Bridge.

Rose Hill & Littlemore: The city ward of Littlemore is combined with nearly all of Rose Hill ward. Iffley Village (MA) which looks to the river and the Westbury Crescent area to the east of the Rose Hill main road are excluded.

Iffley Village goes into Isis, to which it is joined by Meadow Lane and Iffley Lock. The Westbury Crescent part of MB goes into Cowley to which it naturally belongs.

Leys: The city wards of Blackbird Leys and Northfield Brook are combined. The boundaries are Watlington Road, Grenoble Road, part of the railway line and the ring road.

Cowley: The city ward of Cowley is combined with parts of Cowley Marsh ward (RB) and part of the SA polling district from the Lye Valley ward to cover most of the suburb of Cowley. The new division centres on the Cowley district shopping centre. Marshall Road to the south is divided from that part of SA to the north by a recreation ground and a school.

The Westbury Crescent and Church Hill Road area around the cemetery, and to the east of the road called Rose Hill, sits better with Cowley than it does with Rose Hill ward.

St Clement's & Cowley Marsh: The city ward of St Clement's is combined with that part of Cowley Marsh ward (RA) to the west of Cowley Marsh recreation ground. The new division is bounded by the recreation ground, Southfield Golf Course, South Park and Cowley Road. It includes the St Clement's area where the boundary is the River Cherwell.

Headington & Quarry: The city ward of Headington is combined with part of the Pullens Lane area (XC), with Quarry and with the VA polling district around Barton Road. We exclude the student flats of John Garne Way from XC which go into the Marston and Northway division.

Headington and Quarry merge easily together, as does VA which looks much more to Headington than it does to Barton. The new division is bounded by the ring road on one side, includes the district shopping centre of Headington and the area to the north of Headington Hill.